New Directors for Board

Three new Directors have been welcomed to the WGHG Board.They are Associate Professor David Hillis, Jo-anne Moorfoot and Beryl Raufer.

WGHG Board Chair, Jane Leslie, said the new members brought extensive skills and expertise to the Board.

Associate Professor David Hillis was CEO of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) for 13 years before moving into a consulting business this year. He has an extensive background in governance and leadership in education and hospital management, research and regulatory activities.

Jo-anne Moorfoot has held various executive, senior management and clinical roles at Austin Health and Monash Health and is currently the Executive Director of the Australian Centre for Healthcare Governance.

Beryl Raufer brings extensive leadership and experience from across the education and the human services sector. She is currently Regional Manager with Vision Australia and has held senior executive positions for organisations including Amaze (formerly Autism Victoria), Villa Maria and the Australian Red Cross.

“With the appointments of David, Jo-anne and Beryl, we look forward to building on the strong and cohesive working relationships the Board has established, particularly as we progress the strategic planning stages towards the redevelopment of a new hospital for West Gippsland,” Jane Leslie said.

Ms Leslie acknowledged the significant contribution of outgoing Board members John Davine, Brian Davey and Joanne Campbell.

John Davine was a Board member for 19 years and held the position of Chair for 5 years from 2006-2011.  Brian Davey served the Board for 12 years and was Chair for 4 years from 2011-2015 while Joanne Campbell served for eight years and was Vice-Chair from 2011-2014.

“On behalf of the WGHG, we acknowledge their drive, dedication and vision in leading WGHG through a period of unprecedented growth and change.”  

The WGHG Board roles are all voluntary with Directors providing personal time and energy to progress the Group’s activities in the community.

CEO Dan Weeks said “We are very fortunate to have such a diverse level of expertise in the Board, all of whom are committed to furthering health care across west Gippsland.”

Current WGHG Board members are: Jane Leslie (Chair), Peter Kingwill (Vice-Chair), Duncan Smith, Peter Marx, Dr John Monagle, Christine Holland, Gaye Britt, Sally Stannard, Associate Professor David Hillis, Jo-anne Moorfoot and Beryl Raufer.

For media enquiries, please contact the Public Relations Manager at WGHG on 03 5623 0600 or at:

Pictured front from left WGHG Board members Peter Kingwill, Joanne Moorfoot, Christine Holland and Beryl Raufer.  Back from left:  Associate Professor David Hillis, John Monagle, Chair Jane Leslie, Duncan Smith, and Peter Marx.